LoganFoundation

Social Justice—Ensuring all can participate in society without interference, and the benefits and responsibilities accrued from society are fairly distributed to all.

 

AVODAH: The Jewish Service Corps, Washington, D.C., www.avodah.net

$25,000 for each of three years to support AVODAH’s DC corps members and the ongoing engagement and training of alumni

 

Chicago Alliance to End Homelessness, Chicago, IL, http://www.allchicago.org/division/chicago-alliance

$10,000 to purchase 22 tablets for people who are, or have been, homeless and who are also members of the Lived Experience Commission

 

Chicago Foundation for Women, Chicago, IL, www.cfw.org

$1,000 to support the Chicago book tour of Lynda Lowery and Susan Buckley

 

Chicago HOPES for Kids, Chicago, IL, www.chicagohopes.org

$50,000 to provide after-school tutoring in homeless shelters

 

Critical Exposure, Washington, DC, www.criticalexposure.org

$100,000 for each of three years for general support with the goal of expanding programming into Wards 7 and 8 of Washington, DC. Critical Exposure teaches high school students to use photography to advocate for change within their schools and communities.

 

East Mission Initiatives, Inc., San Francisco, CA, www.hackedu.us

$51,500 for general support of hacked

 

Embarc Chicago, Chicago, IL, www.embarcchicago.org

$50,000 to train two teachers and involve 50 more students in an experience-based learning program for low-income high school students

 

Growing Home, Chicago, IL, www.growinghomeinc.org

$25,000 to provide computers for staff and participants in a job-training program

 

Institute for the Next Jewish Future, Chicago, IL, www.nextjewishfuture.org

$5,000 for a challenge grant for Jewish U Chicago, an organization that works with Jewish students at the University of Chicago.

 

Lawrence Hall Youth Services, Chicago, IL, www.lawrencehall.org

$150,000 for each of 2 years for its Foster Care Program and an additional $150,000 in honor of their 150th anniversary year

 

National Coalition Against Censorship, New York, NY, www.ncac.org

$100,000 for each of three years to support the launch of a new initiative to combat art censorship by hiring a full-time Arts Advocacy Project Program Associate

 

Not in Our Town (The Working Group), Oakland, CA, www.niot.org

$500,000 for general support of their effective anti-hate work

 

Our Family Coalition, San Francisco, CA, www.ourfamily.org

$240,000 for general support, which includes a $50,000 challenge grant

 

Roses In Concrete, Oakland, CA, www.rosesinconcrete.org

$260,000 for technology infrastructure

 

Rotary Club of the Denver Tech Center, Greenwood Village, CO, www.dtcrotary.org

$5,000 for the Feeding the Hungry program

 

Search, Inc., Chicago, IL, www.search-inc.org

$7,500 to support Jjslist.com in presenting their Disability Awareness Trainings at up to 5 schools and civic organizations this summer and fall as part of the ADA25 Chicago commemoration

 

Storycatchers Theatre, Chicago, IL, www.storycatcherstheatre.org

$50,000 for each of two years for “Changing Voices”, an employment program for juveniles and young adults recently released from incarceration

 

Street Sense, Washington, DC, www.streetsense.org

$156,000 over 3 years to fund its media center and work with the homeless

 

The ARK, Chicago, IL, www.arkchicago.org

$100,000 for each of two years for social and medical services at The ARK Northwest

 

The Grass Roots Project (Athletes United for Social Justice), Washington, DC, wwwgrassrootsproject.org

$20,000 for NCAA athletes to promote AIDS awareness in DC schools

 

The 606 (The Trust for Public Land), Chicago, IL, www.the606.org

$250,000 for each of three years for the 606 Walking, a series of 4 seasonal community events to be held on The 606 Trail

 

United States Holocaust Museum, Washington, D.C., www.ushmm.org

$35,000 for each of three years to support the program "Law Enforcement and Society: Lessons of the Holocaust" (a joint effort with the Anti-Defamation League)

 

Youth Guidance, Chicago, IL, www.youth-guidance.org

$236,852 to match every dollar raised on the evening of their annual gala, May 9, 2015

 

Young Playwrights Theater, Washington, D.C., www.youngplaywrightstheater.org

$50,000 for each of three years for general support of their expansion plans.

Social Justice, the Arts and Investigative Journalism